Test Process Mixing Sensitivities Using the “Bourne Protocol”

Date: 13 November 2018

Time: 15:00 - 16:00

Tutors: Dr Aaron Sarafinas

What is the minimum scale where we learn if mixing is important in our processes?  Some may find it surprising that we can learn much about mixing in the lab.  If we systematically investigate mixing at the lab scale, we can gain great insights into how microscale, mesoscale, and macroscale mixing could affect our reaction selectivity, crystal size, and other product properties.  Understanding mixing sensitivities early in process development can enable efficient reaction and separation operations and avoid costly surprises on scale-up.  In this webinar we will review how the various scales of mixing can affect chemical processes and then we will focus on an example from Advances in Industrial Mixing where we applied the “Bourne Protocol” in a Mettler-Toledo RC-1e™ calorimeter and identified critical mixing sensitivities in a reactive crystallization.

This FREE webinar is sponsored by DynoChem.  The discussion of micro-, meso-, and macromixing as well as the Bourne Protocol example should be of interest to scientists and engineers who are developing processes for scale-up and commercialization in the specialty chemical and pharmaceutical industries.  The content will also be valuable to scientists and engineers who are trying to troubleshoot and improve challenging commercial processes.

Timings:

3.00 pm (UK)
4.00 pm (Central Europe)
10.00 am (East Coast USA)

Book Now
Gold Sponsor