Beyond Macrocycles: Bond Disconnections Enabled by Metathesis

Date: 16 December 2019

Time: 3.00 pm (GMT); 4.00 pm (CET); 10.00 am (ET); 7.00 am (PT)

As the complexity of target molecules in pharmaceutical synthesis has increased in recent years, the toolbox of synthetic methods in the process and discovery chemist’s repertoire has slowly expanded as well. Ring-closing metathesis has played a key role in the scalable synthesis of several candidates and drug substances, especially as a tool to close macrocyclic rings. However, olefin metathesis is also used to functionalize simple molecules at large scale in other industrial applications, and can enable more efficient syntheses of less complex intermediates. This presentation will highlight olefin metathesis reactions as enabling steps in the synthesis of both complex and simple molecules, with a focus on pharmaceutically relevant structures such as N-heterocycles, and it will address some critical factors to maximize the efficiency of metathesis reactions.

Who should attend?:  Organic chemists, process chemists, discovery chemists

This webinar will be presented by Dr Philip Wheeler, Umicore – who are kindly sponsoring this session.

This will take place at:

3.00 pm London, Lisbon
4.00 pm Paris, Frankfurt, Madrid
10.00 am New York
7.00 am San Francisco

Umicore’s 1st Catalysis Symposium
25th October 2019, Cambridge, MA

Umicore would like to invite you to attend their ‘1st Catalyst Symposium’, which is taking place in Cambridge, MA on October 25th.

You will get the chance to network with your peers of the Life Science industry. And you will enjoy listening to experienced academia and industry scientists, including Professor Nilay Hazari, Professor Robert Grubbs, and many more, presenting their challenges and developments in chemistry.

Please click the hyperlink to find more about the program.

For more information, please e-mail the team:  CatalysisDay@umicore.com.

Book Now
Platinum Sponsor